Tweeters Anonymous

Hello, my name is Emily. I am addicted to tweeting.

Image

I started my first Twitter account a few years ago. I think I may have tweeted once or twice, but nothing much resulted of them. I followed my favorite celebrities and brands and tweeted about my day, much like a Facebook status. I really didn’t see the hype. My first Twitter account remains inactive today, as I can’t remember my original tag or password. Twitter made a lackluster first impression on me.

Little did I know, one day while studying for my MBA, I’d be hired by a fashion web site startup to become the Director of Marketing. Yes, I am a master tweeter now—And, it is my job!

Rewind a few months. Twitter was everywhere, and still is. Twitter is growing toward the future and beyond. A few months ago, I wanted to know why the world was so enthralled by the concept of sending 160 characters into the abyss of social media. I decided to construct an experiment.

I activated my 2nd Twitter account, branding it to match my e-mail address, and later my blog and LinkedIn profile. My favorite part of my name is the “J” in the middle. I think it adds sophistication and a bit of a wink with my signature. My goal of this experiment was to discover why the world was so fascinated with Twitter. I also wanted to see if branding myself – much like a company does – reaped positive results from a Twitter account. To do this, I un-followed the unnecessary celebrities, pop culture icons and reality TV stars. Then, I followed the major newspapers, magazines and news services. I added marketing firms, favorite companies and applicable publications to my feed. I started re-tweeting things that were well-written, interesting, relevant and applicable to my industry of marketing & advertising. Next, I started tweeting my favorite companies with compliments on new products and services.

Then, I started to see it.

Other tweeters started following me! I tweeted thank you mentions to each new follower with generic “How are you?” “TGIF” and basic hash tags for #business or #marketing. It became a lifestyle quickly, and I started targeting followers much like I learned in my MBA classes about targeting a customer. I noticed my engagement was waning, and I needed to “up” my game. I started replying to tweets and continuing conversations, intentionally and deliberately.

After about three to four months of semi-regular and sometimes daily,Twitter activity, I have nearly 300 followers. For an individual, and simply a student and young professional, I am pretty impressed.

I get it. Twitter is really fun. It’s a great tool. I feel connected to the world outside my own four corners, and networking seems boundless. It’s a rush to hear from a company or my favorite reporter from across the country – And sometimes the world! I’m hooked. And, now I have a job that requires me to manage our social media footprint. I am on Twitter nearly 24/7. I can only imagine what will stem from this kind of engagement.

What social media tool are you “addicted” to?

Leave a Reply

